On Your Lips I Sleep

From a field your character grows,

Memories on slender stems

Swaying in my breeze.

This winter is lonely

Hidden beyond your grasp

But as daylight dies I hear you

Softly calling on its voice.

If I fall between your ideas and mine

As if your stems have wept and broken,

Shrouding the sky like birds,

Would there be more than an echo?

The moon, bathes your field in a kissing scent

While I gather red leaves,

Holding one to a warm cheek.

This heart is real, its music lidded

With perpetual sunshine.

Our words dye as if they were said

Yet on your lips a silent song, an aching caress.

I open your palm, inside a bed of blossom

Toasting some long forgotten hymn.

All around I see flowers with hidden faces

Painting the air red with lust,

Their lips break the sky,

I whisper your name and fall.

(c) A Hannan

22 thoughts on “On Your Lips I Sleep

  1. ‘On Your Lips I Sleep’ – make sure not to fall down the throat. Ok, maybe, you’ll fall in the larynx and be his song. But, should you fall down the oesophagus, o man, that’s bad for ya, acid; or bad for him, you could upset his stomach. Or you could be a vitamin and revitalize him? 🙂 Or.. Or.. You are a…

    🙂

  2. Our words dye as if they were said

    Yet on your lips a silent song, an aching caress.

    I open your palm, inside a bed of blossom

    Toasting some long forgotten hymn.

    sigh! loved these lines .. totally ….

    PS : Can i please use some of the images from your blog for my muse . Will mention your blog as source for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

