Melody for Two

Listen, do you here?

I hear the push and pull of sunset
Towards night, enthralled lovers
Soiled with the hues of dusk, a tender hum
Of heartbeats, wings sipping dew,
My lips wet around your finger,
Bodies curved like saplings, limbs
Like hanging branches
Caught on dreams, fingerprints
Pressed with pollen kneading poetry.
Passion has speech for shadows.
I hold the serpent in hand,
My breasts nudging beauty
Towards some intimate hymn.
Pretending to be still, tongue
Caught on one last drop of nectar,
You take the flower from my thigh
And press it to my lips, a moist betrothal.

(c) A Hannan

13 thoughts on “Melody for Two

  1. Thanks for leaving a comment on a poem of mine.

    I’ve read a few of your pieces and particularly love this one. (‘I hear the push and pull of sunset’ brought a few images and feelings to mind, and tugged at a few heartstrings of mine.)

    The images you use are gentle at times, and breathtaking during others. The way you weave the natural world into such intense human passion is nothing short of a marvel to me.

    The simple truths I find lying in your words (and silences) are a form of love I feel may never be entirely encompassed in language. You’re a person as profound as your poetry, and for that I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

